Understanding the Five Stages of Grief


Mourning is a personal experience for every one of us. If you or someone you care about has suffered a loss, the new feelings might be overpowering and perplexing. This guide to the stages of grieving will assist you in identifying and navigating them and eventually find comfort.

  • Stage 1: Denial

    You may experience this in the hours, days, or even weeks following the death of a loved one. You may initially dispute the truth of the loss as an immediate reaction.

  • Stage 2: Anger

    People use anger as a defense mechanism against extreme suffering. Most hospice care in San Antonio, Texas, includes bereavement counseling for those who have lost a loved one.

  • Stage 3: Bargaining

    Bargaining is a stage of grieving that allows you to maintain hope in the face of extreme agony. You are prepared to do and give up everything if your life can be returned to how it was before the loss.

  • Stage 4: Depression

    You begin to confront your current reality and the inevitability of the loss you’ve suffered. This realization may fill you with grief and despair.

  • Stage 5: Acceptance

    Acceptance is more concerned with how you accept the losses you’ve suffered, learn to live with them, and change your life accordingly. During this stage, you may feel more comfortable reaching out to others, but it is also natural to want to withdraw at times.

As a provider of both hospice and home health care in San Antonio, Texas, we at Four Seasons Hospice understand how difficult it can be to cope with grief. When in need of support, contact us at 210-767-3870 , and we will do everything we can to assist you.

We also offer senior care in San Antonio, Texas!

This entry was posted in Understanding Grief and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *